Barnard Castle is very proud of its association with Richard III and his boar badge forms part of the town coat-of-arms. He was Lord of Barnard Castle for 11 years and spent a significant amount of time and money in the town in the late 1470s and early 1480s.
Richard’s boar badge can be seen on several buildings, including the castle and church – he put his mark on this town more than anywhere else in England!
In his early teens Richard undertook knightly training in the household of his cousin, Richard Neville, Earl of Warwick and he may well have enjoyed instruction and hunting at Barnard Castle (one of Warwick’s five northern castles).
Richard became Lord of Barnard Castle in 1474, aged 21, after marrying Warwick’s daughter, Anne. A number of extensive and stylish improvements were carried out in the castle during his lordship, including a stunning oriel window, crowned with his boar badge, overlooking the river Tees.